MARIE AND ROSETTA

MARIE AND ROSETTA

JAN 19 – FEB 13, 2022

Proscenium Stage
By George Brant

Joy and power from the godmother of rock-and-roll

Early subscribers enjoy great pricing and best available seating choices!

Single tickets go on sale in early October.

Back by popular demand! Bringing fierce guitar playing and swing to gospel music, Sister Rosetta Tharpe influenced rock musicians from Elvis to Jimi Hendrix and Ray Charles. The story begins in a funeral parlor in Mississippi, as Rosetta and her young protégé, Marie Knight, prepare for a tour that will establish them as a great musical duo.

Songs like “I Looked Down the Line” drive home the sorrow of living in the Jim Crow South, while “Didn’t It Rain” and “I Want a Tall Skinny Papa” will have you dancing in your seat.

Who should you bring? Sisters and brothers, music lovers, history-buffs; people who want to rise up out of their seats and let the music take them higher.

Dates and Showtimes

  • Wednesday, Jan 19, 7:30 PM | preview
  • Thursday, Jan 20, 7:30 PM | preview
  • Friday, Jan 21, 7:30 PM | opening night   
  • Saturday, Jan 22, 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, Jan 23, 2:00 PM

 

  • Thursday, Jan 27, 7:30 PM
  • Friday, Jan 28, 7:30 PM | audio description
  • Saturday, Jan 29, 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, Jan 30, 2 PM | American sign language (ASL); post-show discussion

 

  • Thursday, Feb 3, 7:30 PM
  • Friday, Feb 4,  7:30 PM
  • Saturday Feb 5, 7:30 PM
  • Sunday Feb 6, 2:00 PM

 

  • Thursday, Feb 10, 7:30 PM
  • Friday, Feb 11, 7:30 PM | open captioning
  • Saturday, Feb 12, 7:30 PM | open captioning; post-show discussion
  • Sunday, Feb 13, 2:00 PM | open captioning

Tickets

To ensure the health and safety of Park Square patrons and staff, the ticket office is temporarily closed for in-person and phone service.

Please email tickets@parksquaretheatre.org, or buy online anytime.

If you leave a message at 651.291.7005, please leave an email address where you can be reached.

Thanks, and stay well!

Stay in Touch!

Get the latest updates and offers from Park Square Theatre.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

    Park Square on Instagram  See Park Square Videos on Vimeo