The Color Purple | Jan 16 – Feb 15, 2015

Based upon the novel written by Alice Walker and The Warner Bros./Amblin Entertainment Motion Picture
Book by Marsha Norman; Music and Lyrics by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray
Directed and Choreographed by Lewis E. Whitlock III; Music Direction by Gary D. Hines and Denise Prosek

Join us for this celebration of life, resilience and love. All her life, “Po’ chile” Celie has known only hardship and cruelty. She is married off at the age of 14 to a callous local farmer and her sole joy in the world is the letters she receives from her missionary sister Nettie. But when sassy nightclub singer Shug Avery comes to town, Celie’s awakening – emotional and otherwise – promises to lead her to healing and joy. With a jubilant score of roof-raising gospel, jazz and throaty blues, The Color Purple is the tale of an everywoman triumphing over adversity, and a testament to the power of hope.

Why go?  To join a celebration of the spirit — with the best talent in town just a few feet away.
Who Should you bring? Someone who appreciates a powerful story and uplifting music.




The Color Purple was produced on Broadway at the Broadway Theater by Oprah Winfrey, Scott Sanders, Roy Furman and Quincy Jones. The world premiere of The Color Purple was produced by the Alliance Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia. The Color Purple is presented through special arrangement with and all authorized performance materials are supplied by Theatrical Rights Worldwide (TRW), 570 Seventh Avenue, Suite 2100, New York, NY 10018. (866) 378-9758


Lewis E. Whitlock III*** – Director and Choreographer
Gary D. Hines – Music Director
Rev. Carl Walker – Musical Casting
Denise Prosek – Co-Music Director and Orchestrations
Andrew Bourgoin**** – Assistant Music Director and Conductor
Daonna Lewis – Dance Captain
Trevor D. Bowen – Costume Designer
C Andrew Mayer – Sound Designer
Thomas Sandelands – Co-Sound Designer

Michael P. Kittel – Lighting Designer
Abbee Warmboe – Properties Designer
Andrea Moriarity-Dahlberg – Wig Designer
Seitu Jones** – Scenic Designer
Jamie J. Kranz* – Stage Manager
Megan Fae Dougherty* – Assistant Stage Manager

Andrew Bourgoin – Conductor/Piano
Joe Cruz – Guitar/Banjo
Jay Young III – Bass
Joey Hayes – Drums
Harold Clark – Trombone
Mark Henderson – Reeds

*Member, Actors’ Equity Association
**Represented by United Scenic Artist, Local USA 829 of the IATSE
***Member, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society
****American Federation of Musicians

This show’s run has concluded.


The box office is currently closed. Please email with any questions.

Stay in Touch!

Get the latest updates and offers from Park Square Theatre.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

    Park Square on Instagram  See Park Square Videos on Vimeo